Board of Directors


Board of Directors

The Superior Rivers Watershed Association consists of a board of 7 to 15 Board of Directors. These board members serve as volunteers who support the mission, vision, and values of the organization. They consist of residents from throughout the service area with a broad representation of the watershed and communities within.

Board of Director members serve three year terms of up to two consecutive terms and attend four to six Board of Director meetings per year. Officers serve a one year term and are elected by members of the Board of Directors.

Interested in joining the board? Contact us.

2022 Meeting Schedule

Board of Directors meetings are currently scheduled for the second Tuesday of every other month.

January 11 @ 6pm

March 8th @ 6pm

May 10th @ 6pm

July 12th @ 6pm

September 13th @ 6pm

November 8th @ 6pm

2021 Board of Directors

We asked our current board of directors why they joined Superior Rivers or why the watershed is important to them.

Michelle Carlile, President

Term: March 2019 – March 2022

Our mission to promote and protect clean waters in the Lake Superior basin and our vision that we citizens are the stewards of this watershed speak to the true essence of who we are. This is what brought me to this organization many years ago as a volunteer. I look forward to being a part of such a wonderful organization. Thank you to all who have worked tirelessly to continue this endeavor.

Phil Norrgard, Vice President

Term: March 2020 – March 2023

Stewardship of critical, local resources empowers individuals and communities. I appreciate that the macrocosm is reflected in the microcosm, that what we embrace “here” in a big way, affects “there” in a small way. To me, this is why SRWA matters.

Bill Route, Treasurer

Term: March 2019 – March 2022

I decided to join SRWA, and to serve on the board of directors, because of the critical importance of clean water to life as we know it. Most importantly, I love the way SRWA engages citizens and teaches youth to use science to monitor the rivers that flow to Lake Superior. Involving citizens is so important in this time of miss-information and down-right disregard for the use of science to take care of our environment. 

Allissa Stutte, Secretary

Term: March 2019 – March 2022

I live in Bayfield and enjoy spending a large portion of my time in, on, or near the big lake and other waterways of the region. I’m passionate about SRWA’s mission to protect clean water resources, and am honored to serve on the Board of Directors.

Erin Burkett

Term: December 2020 – December 2023

Joining the board of Superior Rivers was an easy decision. Each and every staff member and volunteer brings a unique and inspiring energy and commitment to monitoring and protecting rivers and streams in the Lake Superior basin and spreading the love of these life-giving waters. If you are reading this and interested in getting involved with SRWA, please don’t hesitate to reach out! 

Diane Daulton

Term: January 2021 – January 2024

Following in the footsteps of others I admire is a part of my passion for protecting our waters…tribal traditions and respect for water, legacies like those of Sigurd Olson and Aldo Leopold, and more recently Michele Wheeler’s role in bringing people together. Now quasi-retired, I want to give something back. Many of you reading this feel it too, living in this special watershed. There is magic in the light reflecting the moods of our waters. Gifts like reflection, constancy, singing sands under foot, and the music of ice…all worth saving.

April Stone

Term: December 2020 – December 2023

I was on the original board. I wanted to take part in the beginning because the idea behind a watershed association came from the league of women voters and the Bad River Tribe (at least this is my understanding) and I felt as though it would be an honor to work with such an incredible group of individuals. As a Bad River tribal member, I felt it important to participate in this way, with the local communities, working and volunteering for the water.

Past Board of Directors Members

  • Laurence Wiland
  • Cathy Techtman
  • Bobbi Rongstad
  • Mark Dryer
  • Jim Crandall
  • Sjana Schanning
  • Eric Ellason
  • Ana Tochterman
  • Bob Rice
  • Joan Elias
  • Denise Ciebien
  • Andrea Pokrzywinski
  • Valerie Damstra
  • Mike Ryan
  • Kevin Brewster
  • Kelly McKnight
  • Pam Roberts
  • Tracy Ledder
  • Darienne McNamara
  • Jo Bailey
  • Randy Lehr
  • Jedd Ungrodt
  • Dane Bonk
  • Bill Heart
  • George Mika
  • Shawn Miller
  • Steven Smith
  • Dorothy Lagerroos
  • Matt O’Claire
  • Jack Wichita
  • Tom Erickson
  • Karen Danielson
  • Matt Hudson
  • Rose Lahti
  • Rae Ann Maday
  • Colleen Matula
  • Terry Peters
  • Michele Wheeler
  • Myron Anderson
  • Plinio Beres
  • Jeff Ehrhardt
  • Neil Paulson